Goals for 2014

My YearWell hello there! 🙂 I know it’s been a couple of days, but I’ve been busy! And even though I know I’m about to get even busier (school starts back next week…..time to get back in teacher mode!), I’m going to try to be more regular about posting. That’s one of my goals for this year. In fact, let’s take a minute to discuss what my goals for this year are–both in regards to my blog/business (my professional goals) and my personal goals.

Let’s start with the professional goals first.

1. Post blog posts regularly–I’m going to shoot for twice a week right now, until I get myself back in the groove of teaching and working at the library. Hopefully I’ll be able to up the posts to three or four times a week.

2. Set my goals for my business. Right now, I have two of them. The first is to actually open up shop, and I have that tentatively set for no later than March. Once I get going on projects, I’ll have a better idea of a more concrete date. The second is sell enough product this year to be able to pay off my credit card debt. Small (relatively, anyway) goal, but I have to start somewhere. Once I get that debt paid off, I’ll be able to set bigger, slightly more challenging goals. I want this business to be able to provide me with some financial stability, and getting that debt paid off will be a big help in that aspect.

3. Build my brand! If you haven’t already, follow me on Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram (links are to your left). I’m excited to say that I already have followers on each platform, and I love waking up every morning and seeing more! It motivates me to keep going with this adventure.

4. Organize my craft room so that I can use it to create my products and manage my business. I think that one is self explanatory. I have major ideas for that room….I just need to implement them.

5. Get into the craft fair circuit for the fall. My dad used to own a business, and for 12 years, I spent almost every weekend working a craft show somewhere in the state of Georgia. So I definitely know what to expect with them, and what I need to do to prepare for one. If I do get in the fall circuit, I won’t drive myself too crazy by trying to do a show every weekend (I am a teacher after all, I have to have time for my teacher duties), but I’ll try and do one or two a month. And if I can do that, that means I’m getting successful enough to be able to quit my job at the library…..which brings me to my last professional goal for 2014….

6. Quit my job at the library! 🙂

Now, for the personal goals.

1. Organize my house. And keep it clean and organized. If you know me, then you know how that doesn’t happen. Ever. At all. I’m extremely busy and just don’t have a lot of time to devote to cleaning and organizing my house. And it sucks because I’m getting to the point where I want to keep my house looking nice. So, I’m going to make it a goal of mine to be better at doing so.

2. Learn time management skills. They’re definitely needed at this point in my life.

3. Cook more, eat out less. Self explanatory.

4. Save money and pay off my debts. Mainly just credit card debt, but still. It needs to be paid off.

5. Lose weight. I joined Weight Watchers (again), because it works. The last time I was on it, I lost 17 pounds in about 7 months. I need to get back into the habit of eating healthier and doing some form of exercise.

6. Volunteer places. I always say I’m going to do this, but I never do. So this year, I will make it happen. 🙂

And last, but not least…..

7. Meet new people–and not on a dating site. While I love guys and all, I need to meet some people who I’m not interested in dating….just make new friends. Most of my close friends live out of state, and I want to change that.

So there you have it: my goals for 2014. I have very high hopes for this year, and I can’t wait to see where it takes me. And I definitely can’t wait to start completing these goals and crossing them off my list! 🙂 Leave me a comment and tell me some of your goals for this year, whether they be professional, personal, or both.

Your Georgia Peach,
-Amanda

Leave a Reply

